Despite shopping being a pleasurable activity for many of us, entering a department store can put you in harm’s way. You could sustain significant injuries in any number of ways, even if you are paying close attention. Even if you are not, that does not give negligent store owners and department store staff free license to act recklessly. If you have sustained injuries in a big box store, please read on, then contact an experienced Port St. Lucie premises liability lawyer to learn what you should know about department store accidents in Florida.
How might you sustain injuries in a Florida department store?
Though department store accidents can occur for a wide variety of reasons, they generally stem from some form of negligence on the part of owners or staff. That said, some of the most common causes of department store accidents include, but are not limited to, the following:
- Poorly placed floor mats
- Poorly placed merchandise displays
- Merchandise falling from shelves
- Merchandise in aisles, posing a trip and fall hazard
- Spilled liquids
- Unsafe department store parking lots
- Inadequate security
- Defective department store elevators or escalators
What constitutes a valid personal injury claim?
So long as you are able to prove that you share 49 percent or less of the fault, you should have a valid personal injury claim. Furthermore, if you can prove that the negligent property owner or department store staff share 51 percent or more of the fault, then you should also have a viable premises liability claim. Lastly, if you can prove that an unsafe escalator or elevator design or manufacturing defect led to you sustaining serious injuries, you may have a valid product liability claim, too. To prove your claim, you will need to uncover and present the following evidence:
- Witness statements
- Pictures of the accident and/or unsafe conditions that caused your accident
- Store incident reports
- Medical documents
Before you set out on your journey to recover compensation, you should reach out to a skilled St. Lucie County personal injury lawyer to discuss your next steps.
In Florida, how long do you have to file a personal injury claim for department store accidents?
At most, you have four years to file your lawsuit. However, with each passing day, it becomes more difficult to prove your case. Along with your competent personal injury attorney, you should commence proceedings now. Let our firm handle the legal work, while you focus on recovery. Please give us a call today.
Contact our experienced Port St. Lucie Firm
Here at The Florida Personal Injury Law Team, our firm understands the detrimental effects that an injury can have on an individual and his or her family. Our firm handles a wide array of personal injury claims, including those involving auto accidents, slip and falls, defective products, construction accidents, dog bites, wrongful death, and more. If you require legal representation for matters of personal injury, look no further than the Florida Personal Injury Law team. To schedule your first consultation with our team, contact an experienced Port St. Lucie personal injury attorney today.