Unfortunately, it is fairly common for workers to get injured while they are working. Workers may sustain significant injuries that cause them to be unable to work. Luckily, Florida and other states enforce strict workers’ compensation laws to protect workers in the event they are hurt on the job. Essentially, worker’s compensation is a type of insurance that covers wage reimbursement and medical benefits for employees who become ill or injured as a direct result of their job. Workers’ compensation coverage requirements ultimately depend on the type of industry and the number of employees an establishment employs. However, in Florida establishments that employ four or more workers are legally required to provide their employees with workers’ compensation. In the unfortunate event that you or someone you love has been injured while working, contact one of our determined Port St. Lucie Workers’ Compensation Lawyer who can help you prove that you qualify and should receive workers’ compensation coverage.
What is workers’ compensation?
In Florida, companies with more than four workers are legally obligated to carry workers’ compensation insurance to provide benefits and medical care for workers in the event they sustain an injury or illness as a direct result of their profession. Employers are strictly required to pay for this type of insurance coverage. Employees do not have to pay anything towards it. When it comes to workers’ compensation in Florida, it is a no-fault system. Essentially, this means that workers who are injured while working are not required to prove that their employers’ negligent actions caused their injuries. Workers’ who are eligible for these types of benefits may cover a workers’ lost wages, medical care, vocational rehabilitation expenses, and impairment benefits.
How long do injured workers have to report a claim?
It is critical for workers to report their injuries as soon as possible. There are strict deadlines that workers’ must meet to file a workers’ compensation claim. In Florida, workers must make a report within 30 days of their injuries to qualify. If they miss the strict deadline, their workers compensation claim will likely be denied. Additionally, employers are legally required to report a claim within 7 days after the incident took place. If they fail to file a report with their insurance company within 7 days they will face fines. If an employer refuses to report the injury, workers should take matters into their own hands and contact the insurance company directly about the accident. If you’ve been hurt on the job, please don’t hesitate to get in touch with one of our skilled and experienced team members. Our firm is committed to helping our clients recover appropriate benefits that help them get back on their feet after a serious workplace injury. Allow our firm to fight on your behalf today.